I wait

You’re the first thought I still have
The last one I close my eyes with
The one that occupies my personal
Space as shadow refusing to go away
I pretend to go about with my life
Each day struggling to shut you out
My failures mocking me on how I
Lost what meant so much to me
Why did I make you permanent
When all this time all I was a thing
A temporary trophy you got bored of
Discarded when you got tired of it
Asking for more than it deserved
Even then I wait counting days for
The knock on the door, that one call
That text that never comes hoping
You’ll find your way back knowing
You took my heart when you walked
Away and I need it back like the trees
Need the air and the water to survive
I breathe slower and wither bit by bit
Silly girl, my mind tuts and frowns at
My inability to let go of what’s never
Coming back

14 thoughts on “I wait

      1. Yeah, I was a little off reading and stuff; not exactly busy but occupied with all mushy and emotional stuff πŸ˜€ (you will understand πŸ˜‰ )

        Haha, trust me, I have learnt it quite the hard way that waiting is just that false hope that will never show its colors — like ever !! πŸ˜€

        I love reading your blog and communicating with you through these comments ❀

        Hugs,
        -Naima

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I see someone was having a good time, that makes me really happy for you ^_^
        Yup, agreed totes. It’s better to do one day at a time, tomorrow we shall see what tomorrow has, let’s not put too much weight on ‘waiting & hoping’.
        I’m glad words connected us πŸ™‚
        *virtual hugs*

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hello barrira πŸ™‚
    I must say, you have inexplicably fantastic poetry style. Your words are simpl and so deep. While going through some of them, I realised how much meaning those short lines conveyed.
    And this one. It’s my favourite one so far. This description of endless pain. A silent hope that keeps the passion kindled.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you for the lovely words Maryam! they mean a lot honestly πŸ™‚ words are home for me and so no matter how my days go I have to come back to words for peace…and after all at the end of day what else will keep you going apart from silent desperate hope..

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi,
      Ouch, that must have been difficult and yes, the way people treat others sometimes leaves me astounded. The capacity of insensitivity seems to know no bounds when it comes to a few of us. Life doesn’t gives us answers to everything but it somehow gives us the strength to keep moving πŸ™‚
      Best
      B

      Like

Leave a Reply

