A place called home

There is a restless feeling under my skin
An itch that makes me want to claw till
I bleed raw and find what’s hiding within
A void I walk around with pulling me down
With its weight and hollowness that gnaws
In search of peace I have traveled worlds
A place I could call home to be myself
Where I could read and scribble freely
A sanctuary that blankets me in its arms
Letting me ramble on eccentric issues
That warmth which would make me smile
And forget the burdens of the world not
Just a roof to live under but a heart that
Will reach out and pick mine apart rightly
Enough strength to share the weight of
The world to succeed and survive madness
But between chattering crowds and houses
The emptiness inside grows as I fail to
Find what could be my “Querencia


Note: Querencia is a place from which one’s strength is drawn, where one feels at home; the place where you’re your most authentic self.

18 thoughts on “A place called home

      1. Yeah, I knew about it in Spanish but I thought ‘your meaning’ would fit in your dictionary 😉
        Anyway, you can always create magic with the given words — I am glad that I found you on WordPress.

        Much love,
        -Naima

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh that way I have my whole own dictionary up and running starting from grey and blue meaning happiness xD
        That means a lot Naima! it makes me happy to know we connected by words ❤ *virtual hugs*

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I like how you use words from other languages. Also, I noticed some words in the poem stick out. Like strength, warmth, sanctuary. Was that your intent or just random?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

