Stranger

My eyes found you that one day
You were with friends at a bar
Seated two tables away laughing
At some joke your friend just
Made and I couldn’t tear my eyes
Off you so I kept watching your
Every move that your body made
Almost like you were swaying to
The sound of jazz that played
Slightly leaning forward you picked
Up that drink and put it to your lips
As slowly you keep the glass down
You lick your lower lip lightly and I
Groan inwardly trying to look away
But I couldn’t stop staring at the
Perfectly shaped lips and those
Flawless hands that looked like
They had been sculptured by the
Finest artist out there with love and
Passion that you can only dream of
You whisper something to the girl
Sitting next to you and you both
Seem to share a mischievous smile
Your eyes hold a spark and with
Horror I realized how I wished it was
Me next to you as you took me on
Transcendence experience showing
Stars and galaxies from a place afar
A sigh escaped my lips as I observed
How your fingers seemed to frisk over
Her knee length aqua silk frock so
Smoothly that no one seemed to notice
Till you loudly asked her out for a walk
I wince as I remember her giggle in my
Head when you walked away with her
So unaware of how you had become a
A forever etched portrait inside my mind
Which I failed to get rid of from that day
Surrounded by your aura I try to escape
Today again by capturing you in words


http://penningmyvoice.com/stranger/

11 thoughts on “Stranger

  1. This is so beautiful, Barrira ❤
    I always thought of people leaving an impact with their grace or neigh or whatever. That happens but may be not with everybody (although it will sound unrealistic lol) your poem as usual was lovely and very well-expressed.
    I hope you have a great weekend.

    Much love,
    -Naima

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

