Monster Within

Nothing scares me more
Than the monster that
Resides within always
Wanting to be unleashed
It persistently knocks at
The door like a madman
Refusing to go silent and
Letting me breath in peace
It laughs over the living
Endless nightmare I’m the
Main character in perpetually
Barely hanging on to sanity
Almost falling into the trap
I shake my head refusing to
Pay attention to my monster
Knowing the damage I can
Cause to myself and others
If the dreadful madness
Manages to scratch through
So I avoid the screams and
Curses for I cannot accept
The demon to overtake me
And abuse my loved ones that
I know it wants to brutally hurt
I feel it painfully screaming
Pushing through the cracks
Violently I shake my head and
Continue to smile biting my lip
Refusing to let it escape again

38 thoughts on “Monster Within

  1. Amazing ! The struggle with the monster within was so well worded I could actually see it ! You are not only doing a great job in keeping him caged, but also guiding others by expressing so well. It was a brilliant piece of poetry šŸ™‚

    Like

      1. This reminds me of a popular sticker some people put on their cars here: “Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup!” – a warning to all the jerks you encounter – lol Cheers

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

