Twisted Lines

As I look down at my hands
I see twisted lines messed up
Telling tales of the past and
Hiding the future within them
I wonder what meaning they
Seem to be conveying to me
They take twists and turns like
A rocky road of life I have led
I trace my fingers gingerly on
One of hands and even feel a
Few bumps that only can be
Found if looked upon carefully
To an onlooker they are deceitful
Pretty at their best as abstract
But if somebody ever sat down
To read the stories hidden in lines
I wonder if they will cringe in pain
Or wince with pity at the horror
I’m startled to hear my own chuckle
The idea of anyone stopping by for
someone’s story feels oddly wrong

27 thoughts on “Twisted Lines

  1. You sure know how to create magic with words.It is just amazing how you use them to create some amazing magic.
    The ending lines here are just amazing,I’m quoting them
    “The idea of anyone stopping by for
    someone’s story feels oddly wrong”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I swear! The hidden truth! 😦 Last three lines, “I’m startled to hear my own chuckle….” an irony indeed. You’re right, no one stops to lend a hand, they would rather laugh at our distraught or pity us instead. But, as they say, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! πŸ™‚ Gear up, cheer up, and let the world do their deed, we shall move towards victory! ^_^
    Beautiful poem dear. :’)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

