Lies and Smiles

So we meet again today
Smiling and greeting at
Each other as every day
Hidden behind this mask
We wear like a veil of sins
You lie through your teeth
And I smile through your
Every word that you say
Wrapped up in fake love
I look at you the same way
Repeating this act of care
That we have weaved so
Viciously with no way out
Reducing sincerity to only
A word game between
Humans who seem lost
In their own lives as if
Perfection was suppose
To be our final destination
So alone at mid-nights
Working out how we will
Smile again the next day
Burying our hearts away
To be never found againย 

10 thoughts on “Lies and Smiles

  1. Great, honest poetry from the heart. I’m honored that you stopped by my blog and liked my last post. Sorry it took awhile to get back, life dragged me away from wordpress last week, but here I am enjoying your mastery of the literary arts. Have a great weekend and week! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

