Charles said it!

1st Day – 1st Quote

The problem was you had to keep choosing between one evil or another, and no matter what you chose, they sliced a little bit more off you, until there was nothing left. At the age of 25 most people were finished. A whole god-damned nation of assholes driving automobiles, eating, having babies, doing everything in the worst way possible, like voting for the presidential candidates who reminded them most of themselves. I had no interests. I had no interest in anything. I had no idea how I was going to escape. At least the others had some taste for life. They seemed to understand something that I didn’t understand. Maybe I was lacking. It was possible. I often felt inferior. I just wanted to get away from them. But there was no place to go.
― Charles Bukowski

The above quote is in response to the “3 day quotes challenge” for which I was nominated by two absolutely lovely people; Kri and Steph, thank-you guys, I’m honored and humbled by the challenge, especially since reading and quotes collection is among my personal favourite things to do.

I won’t explain as to why I chose this quote but let’s just say, the quote comes very close to the most closed spaces we all hide within us. 


Rules for the challenge:

1. Post 3 of your favourite quotes each per day for 3 recurrent days. The quotes can be of any other people or it may come straight from your own heart.
2. Nominate 3 or more bloggers with each post to challenge them.
3. Don’t forget to utter a thankful word to the person who nominated you.


Today’s nominations for the 3 day quote challenge are:

1. Will
2. Naima
3. Darshith


Again a huge THANK-YOU both of you for sharing this challenge with me and good-luck to all the nominations. I look forward to seeing your posts ❤

12 thoughts on “Charles said it!

  1. Loved the quote. It said so much about being YOU. I remembered “Walk as if you are the King or as if you don’t care who is the King” !! And thank you so very much Barrira for the nominations. But unfortunately I’m not able to post it again… Sorry for that…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

